The Launch Party

I have to start off by saying that the last few months have definitely been a whirlwind. Making up my mind and finally deciding to launch Event Stylings has been one of the best decisions I have ever made, in my entire life. It takes a lot of hard work and dedication, which I’m sure a lot of you have all heard before. But it’s true.. With hard work and dedication, you must also put in 110%, and make sure that the people dearest and closest to you also support your decisions. This could not have happened without the love and support of my family and friends.
As mentioned under my About page, I have always loved running and planning events. This is not new to me. Working hard for something that I believe in, isn’t either. The hardest part about launching this company was figuring out exactly what I wanted to launch. I coined many company names in my head, and I hated every single one of them. I thought I would never get it right. Knowing what I wanted to provide for my clients was also difficult to pin-point. And don’t even get me started on colour schemes, logos and types of services! I think I hated August the most, and I’m pretty sure the month of August hated me as well.. 
As I slowly started piecing together my company, I came across a lot of positive and negative people. All of which have made me stronger. I thank the positive people in my life who realistically helped me maximize my potential. I also thank all the negative people that thought this couldn’t be accomplished. I worked harder because of it.

Event Stylings does exactly what it states: Styles. The main objectives of Event Stylings are to plan, personally consult, provide a la carte services, and an experience like no other.

Left:Shawna Leigh
(My Butterfly Tree)
Left: Gina Oades
(Make-Up By Gina Marie)

My launch date started approaching, and I still knew there was so much to be done. The launch flyer was also a tough decision. Again, I needed to pick a design that would portray an image for my company. A chandelier could not have been more perfect! A chandelier is decorative, and has many branches, just like the decorative properties of my company, and it’s many branches of like-services. What else would I have chosen?? But I must also ask you.. do you have any idea how long it took me to figure this out?? You wanna know what though, I LOVED EVERY MINUTE OF IT! Paying attention to detail, and taking my time to research, is actually something I take pride in. Which is also why your event will never go unnoticed!

L-R: Shannon Wright (Street Haven)
Gita Schwartz (Street Haven)
Nicolas Melo (P.O.S.E. Dance Co.)
DJ ElectroNick

The day of my launch party, I can barely remember. To make sure everything looked perfect, a lot of planning and decorating took place. I felt like I was running around like a chicken with my head cut off. And I’m sure my assistants may have thought that they got into something more than they bargained for.. However, I thank them for putting up with me!

DJ Publicity Left:Olga Xinos
(Hair By Olga)

Just before we opened the doors of Locus 144, I was still running around making sure everything was perfect, even though I only had half of my make up was on, and I was still wearing my UGG boots.. I had to make sure everything was as perfect as I would have wanted it to be. With some minor hiccups along the way (which always happens, btw), I was still able to pull off a memorable evening. There is always a plan B and an action plan in place. Again, I thank my assistants for being so prompt. 🙂

As I said my speech and tears began to fill my eyes, I had no idea what was going on with my tear ducts.. Now that I have had time to think about it, I believe it was the overwhelming feelings of “this is it!”, “you’re doing it!”, “it’s actually happening!”, “all these people are here to support you, your ideas and your new company!”. I composed myself by taking a deep breath and glancing over at everyone. At that moment, I felt like my life was going in the proper direction.

I must say thank you to all the vendors, as well as all the sponsors who helped make this dream a reality. These thank you’s are listed on the following Thank You page.

I would like to personally thank Denise Chand of Agapé Gold and Gita Schwartz, Executive Director of Street Haven for speaking at my event, also.
Denise Chand
(Agapé Gold)
Gita Schwartz
Executive Director
(Street Haven)

I must thank each and every guest in attendance. This could not have happened without your presence and your kind words. I hope you all had just as an amazing time as I did! For those of you who could not attend, I had a wonderful raffle with gracious prizes from many local vendors. After tallying the total raffle ticket sales, you all helped raise over $200!!! Not to mention the non-perishable food items that most guests brought in with them. This experience was truly amazing and you all had a part in it, even if you didn’t think so, in the beginning.

With that being said, 2013 has a lot in store for me and Event Stylings. The company will be expanding.

For a collection of all the photos taken at my launch party, please refer to the Gallery Tab above.

Please keep a look out for the following events that my company will be a part of:

  • Mix and Mingle (early February 2013, in collaboration with FAME Media)
My team and I will continue to be available for private functions.  Please refer to my Services Tab for further details.
Leave a Reply

